At its meeting on Saturday, April 25, the University of Hawaii Professional Assembly (UHPA) 24-member Board of Directors have elected Duane Stevens, Professor of Meteorology at UH-Manoa, to a two-year term as President.  Professor Stevens follows Professor Joseph Chernisky, Leeward CC, as president of the union.   Professor Chernisky will complete six years on the Board this fall when his final term on the Board will end. 

Newly elected Board member Dennis Vanairsdale, Professor of Accountancy at Kapiolani Community College, has been elected to the one year term as Vice President.  Current UHPA Secretary, Karla Hayashi, UH-Hilo, was re-elected to her third one year term for that office, and former UHPA Vice President, Adrienne Valdez, UH-West Oahu, was elected to a one year term as UHPA Treasurer.  All four officers assume office immediately.

The four officers were also elected to UHPA’s Executive Committee.  Others elected to serve on the Executive Committee are Brenda Cartwright of UH-Manoa, Paulette Feeney of UH-Manoa, and newly elected Director Vincent Linares of Maui Community College.